jump to navigation

Share your wildest or most dreadful AdLab moment January 25, 2007

Posted by adstravaganza in Uncategorized.
trackback

AdLab: Agency of Champions.

When it comes to AdLab, let’s rip-off Dickens (we’ve already ripped-off Wheaties in the headline).

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.”

Time to play Bartles and Jaymes. Sit back on the porch, put your feet up, and reminisce about your AdLab client and account team.

Want to share old AdLab photos for the world to see? Do It Now!

Comments»

1. Craig - February 7, 2007

The best moment was the eBoard taking a trip to Best Buy to cop 50 Cent’s GRODT. Damn…was that really 4 years ago already?!?

2. Shawn Zupp - February 8, 2007

My craziest Adlab moment (wait wasn’t it all crazy?) was this…..
I worked on the U.S. Coast Guard account (they were cool….always would give us a nice cheesy award at the end of the year). And we had to do a TV PSA to build awareness among boaters of safety in the Boston waters due to many accidents with whales – especially this special “Northern White” whale who was becoming an endangered species (basically, um, don’t hit the whales with your boats please!).

So months of planning, creating, etc. etc. and its shoot day, all we gotta do is shoot some whale action – and we can’t find the damn northern white whale! Not for the life of us. Talk about a bummer. Nice ride on the cutter boat though.

3. Laurence Gega - February 8, 2007

Most awkward moment was going to Best Buy with Craig to pick up the same 50 Cent CD and waiting in line behind him. Suddenly he turns around and tries to make out with me in Best Buy. Really, really awkward.

Thanks to countless bottles of Vodka and hours of therapy, I’m finallly doing ok.

4. Craig - February 8, 2007

^^
Hey bra. Didn’t want to go there. Lemme ask you 21 questions:

You say you a gangsta? But you never pop nothin’? You go to the dealership? But you never cop nothin’? You a Bathing Ape fanatic? Red Monkey junkie? Glass pots on the stove? Got the kitchen smellin’ funky? You a black republican? Money you got comin’ in? Can’t turn your back on the hood? Too much love for them? What you know about that? You know Melissa Ford drives a Honda Accord? You love it when they call me Big Poppa? What’s beef? You living the life of that is diamonds and guns? There’s numerous ways you can choose to earn funds. Cash rules everything around you? What you know about that? Can I live? Can it be that it was all so simple? You know there ain’t such thing as halfway crooks…

5. Penny - February 9, 2007

I have so many moments. But I’d like to highlight 2:

One of them involves me meeting my future friends, who I adore. I was the only undergrad who got teamed up with the grad team. I was so intimidated by Amanda, and Allison. More Amanda than Allison. 😉 Alex was super nice so I tried to cling on to her. So for one of our Client meetings, Amanda drove us out to Chelsea when there was 10 ft of snow. We went to Dunkin and had Panera Bread (i think) for lunch. It was our first bonding moment and I learned not to be scared of Amanda and Allison–they don’t bite. Unless you ask them to.

My second moment was when we had the Penny Awards. The E-board glued pennies on blank CDs and then we spray painted them in gold, silver, and bronze just like the Olympics. And handed those out as prizes on the last day. (Now that I think of it, those were pretty lame prizes but we were broke college students, none of us wanted to actually shell out dough for this.) I think Tobe/Verret said they would continue the Penny Awards tradition after I left, but I think they just said that so I would leave them alone.

AdLab, the good ole days.

6. Allison - February 16, 2007

In response to Penny’s first AdLab memory, I’m not intimidating 🙂 Ok, so maybe I am a little bit. But I vividly remember the drive out to Chelsea to meet Bea. Now, the best part about the drive out there was that Amanda was driving Yetta. A lovely and loved green Jetta that was on her last leg. Adventure.

And when I initally thought about what I was going to say about my AdLab memories, that memory is exactly what came to mind!

7. Dennis Greeley - February 22, 2007

i challenge anyone to beat this one:
The Haitian Mental Health Clinic.

That was my first AdLab client.
Really, where is there to go after that?

it was everything you can imagine. And more.

8. Dave Swartz - February 25, 2007

In case anyone ever wondered, it was me who stole the huge tray of cookies that was out in the hall after class. I’m not sure what they were for, but they were delicious.

thanks.

9. Brad Roth - February 26, 2007

My most awkward moment was getting drunk at Verret’s house and playing basketball with the hoodlum neighbor kids and having them tackle me to the ground, steal the ball and score from me… in front of everyone.

10. Jessica - March 9, 2007

See… I remember getting the Pennies (stolen from CampCo Dave). I remember spray painting the CDs and Pennies in the AdLab office. But I can’t remember what the damn things were for.

11. Chris Vance - March 9, 2007

I remember being in the AdLab office as the Pennies were being created. Oddly enough, I don’t remember the next few hours. Something about spray paint fumes and no ventilation…

12. Penny - March 12, 2007

Yea, that was not a good idea. Someone should have opened a window. I blame Jessica Mangan, as VP, she should have managed us better.

13. Alisa Harris - March 22, 2007

Adlab memories: A couple of memories (and this one will date me) I remember being the only creative in Adlab to work a Macintosh for setting type! One was donated to us and I don’t even think we had a printer to hook it up to yet. Even interning at Hill, Holiday…there were only a couple computers set up and they were rarely used then!

Another favorite: Winning a LuMont for New England Home for Little Wanderers commercial. I know that being on the advertising side of casting has made me a better talent agent and my first casting experience was picking out our ‘little wanderer, Hope’ in that commercial.

14. Jessica Mangan - April 4, 2007

Managed you better? That’s my management style — I fume my underlings so they can do my bidding. Mwa ha ha.

15. Karen Leiper Haffmans - April 17, 2007

Hmmmm…some of my “fondest” AdLab memories include the Native American Indian Foundation’s 18 month calendar back in the day when we did everything by hand.

I’ll also never forget the priceless look on Cakebread’s face when he caught me tearing through the place, swearing like a sailor at the top of my lungs. Somehow my producing style hasn’t changed much in the past 13 years.

Oh, and I lost my favorite ring in the garbage there. Damn!

16. Betsy Brill-Steckelman - April 25, 2007

Hey Dennis,
I think I might be able to beat your first client experience-

Mine was at a men’s correctional facility (and yes, me and another young college co-ed went there to meet with the client in person).

Sounds like a bad movie, doesn’t it? The experience was pretty surreal.

17. Robert Cohen - April 26, 2007

Here’s a doozy.

I was the very first person to ever pitch AdLAb to a potential client in the United States, let alone at BU. There were only about 8 or so students involved with Walter Lubars’ brainchild that year; or so I remember. Everyone was into the idea of working on real live accounts, but no one was really sure how to make it happen. I was a semi-professional graphic artist in those days (rather than go to SFA, I went to SPC, as it was called in those days, to get a handle on how ad agencies worked). Because I could draw a straight line, and was the most capable of the group to create the presentation boards, I became the most familiar person with what we were suggesting to our potential client (it was some strange company that made planters or chia pets or something like that… remember, this was back in 1975-76). When it came time to present, everyone chickened out, and so I wound up doing the entire presentation by default. It went pretty well. I think we got the account. In those days, I had to use Letraset rub-on lettering to make all the presentation boards. There were no computers. In fact, we barely had light bulbs and morse code.

Walter was, without a doubt, the most interesting, personable, knowledgeable and inspiring professor I ever had. I have such fond memories of taking his classes. I wish I could do it all over again. I left BU without graduating in 1976, along with my classmates.

I needed 4 more credits when I returned home to New York City. And years later, after I sold a successful business I owned, Walter let me take the 4-credit course at NYU– and I received my diploma in the 1980’s. I don’t recall the year they say I graduated. It’s immaterial.

As far as I’m concerned, I’m a part of the 1976 graduating class. They were a great bunch of kids. They partied very hard. They tried everything. They weren’t sure if they were hippies or BP’s… or what they were. They did get stoned a lot, I recall. Howard Stern was in about 6 of my classes. He never said anything.


Leave a Reply

